Download Our App!

Action Center
What is the Electrical Workers Minority Caucus?
Updated On: May 19, 2017

ver The Electrical Workers Minority Caucus

Forever Lifting Up Always Moving Forward

The history of the EWMC has its roots in the Civil Rights movement and the struggle for equal rights for minority workers in the IBEW. Minority communities wanted greater opportunities to join the IBEW and minority members in the IBEW saw the need to strengthen and grow IBEW membership.

In 1974, African American and Hispanic delegates met during the 30th IBEW International Convention in Kansas City, Missouri, and formed the Electrical Workers Minority Caucus to address the lack of minority representation and other inequalities within the IBEW.

The EWMC believes that the IBEW must embrace principles and actions of Diversity and Full Inclusion to organize, prosper and grow. Minorities, women, and communities of color must be mobilized and organized to grow the trade union movement.

Due to many years leadership by EWMC President Robbie Sparks, an IBEW Business Manager from Atlanta, Georgia, resolutions at IBEW International Conventions were adopted that committed the IBEW to Diversity and Full Inclusion. The success of the EWMC is essentially due to a strong vision and belief in the abilities of people of color, and that all must be included to strengthen and grow our IBEW.

The EWMC is a strong advocate for equal rights, opportunities, and greater minority representation in the IBEW. The EWMC is well respected by the IBEW and the labor movement because of its strong commitment and vigorous pursuit of social and economic justice for minority workers.

The Caucus serves as a support and networking system, and provides education and training for its members. The membership reflects a broad-based coalition of dedicated IBEW men and women who work within the IBEW structure to forge changes that will benefit minorities and the entire IBEW membership.

The EWMC Executive Committee is comprised of twelve elected officers: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and eight (8) At-Large members. The rules governing the EWMC are contained in the organization’s national operating bylaws.

  • Electrical Workers Minority Caucus

    Copyright © 2018. All Rights Reserved.

    Powered By UnionActive

  • Top of Page image